укр eng

Public Health

The goal of the program

is to promote the development of a cost-effective and non-discriminatory healthcare system, transparent and rational spending of public funds, ensure equal access to essential medicines and proper treatment, including vulnerable groups

The goal of the program

Publications

Less than 20% of Ukrainians receive pain relief they need

These are the results of the one-of-a-kind study “Consumption of opioid analgesics in Ukraine. 2011-2016”, which was carried out in 2016 – 2018 by Analytics and Advocacy Institute NGO with the support from International Renaissance Foundation.

Accountability of healthcare spending

Development and dissemination of models of transparent and rational planning and use of public funds for healthcare.

Balanced and non-discriminatory drug policy

Development and implementation of a regulatory base for:

- ensuring access to treatment with controlled substances (pain treatment and substitution maintenance therapy);

- reducing the criminalization of people who use drugs (softening penalties for possession of small quantities of drugs).

Fighting corruption in healthcare

Independent control over the public procurement of essential medicines for treating HIV/AIDS, TB, hepatitis and cancer.

Supporting independent hospital supervisory boards to monitor the use of public funds and charitable donations.

Analyzing the impact of healthcare reform on access to treatment and corruption.

Legal empowerment of vulnerable groups

Ensuring that patients, including vulnerable groups, have access to quality free legal aid.

Increasing the capacity of vulnerable groups to monitor and document human rights violations and represent their personal interests and those of their community.

Contacts

Victoria Tymoshevska

Public Health Program Director

tymoshevska@irf.ua

(+380 44) 461 97 09

Olena Kucheruk

Public Health Program Manager

kucheruk@irf.ua

(+380 44) 461 97 09

Kseniya Shapoval-Deinega

Public Health Program Manager

shapoval@irf.ua

(+380 44) 461 97 09

Zoriana Kaznovska

Public Health Program Assistant

kaznovska@irf.ua

(+380 44) 461 97 09

Anna Karashivska

Media Consultant Public Health Program

karashivska@irf.ua

(+380 44) 461 97 09

Yaroslava Shuliak

Public Health Program Coordinator

shuliak@irf.ua

(+380 44) 461 97 09